Peter Watson Prize 2019

Group 2The final of our 2019 EIS Peter Watson Prize was held at a special event at Derby County Football Club on 1 October 2019.

Congratulations to our winner Alex O’Neill of Jaguar Land Rover/University of Surrey. Matt Crane of University of Bristol was Highly Commended. The judges noted the high standard of presentations delivered which was especially apparent this year.

Winner and JRY


Ahmed Hesham Abdulaziz  – Cardiff University

Alex O’Neill – JLR/University of Surrey

Alfredo Fantetti – Imperial College

Faryal Khalid – University of Exeter

Guilia Mazzei – Manchester University

Jennifer Glover – Loughborough University

Matt Crane – University of Britsol

Mitchell Leering – Coventry University

Murven Wan – Transmission Dynamics

Richard Williams – Imperial College


The prize is named after our founding President, Dr Peter Watson, who passed away in 2015. It was created to support young engineers at the start of their career, a cause Peter keenly supported throughout his working life. The next Peter Watson Prize will be awarded at Fatigue 2020.


Scroll to top